BREAKING: INEC declares Akeredolu winner of Ondo election

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Governor Rotimi Akeredolu as the winner of the 2020 Ondo State Governorship Election.

INEC Returning Officer for the election, Prof Idowu Olayinka at the INEC Headquarters in Akure on Sunday declared Akeredolu, the candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC) winner after polling a total votes of292,830 ahead of the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Eyitayo Jegede who polled 195,791.

Rally Trade

Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) was in a distant third having scored 69,127 votes.

“Having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, I hereby declare Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu of the APC as the winner, and he is hereby returned elected,” Chief Returning Officer for the election, Prof Olayinka who is the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan said.


Below are votes garnered by the parties.

AAC – 814


ADC – 2,440

ADP – 3,464

APC – 292,830


APGA – 271

APM – 309

APP – 527

LP – 1,977

NNPP – 222

NRM – 468

PDP – 195,791

PRP – 669

SDP – 3,053

YPP – 398

ZLP – 69, 127



Related Articles


Leave a Reply

Back to top button
Need Code to register? Chat with us